top of page
  • Writer's pictureC. M. Ramsburg

Planetary Astrology

Today we will learn about Planetary Astrology! The location of each planet at your birth impacts the role they will play throughout your life. Below we will delve into the planets and their short-term and long-term influence!

Welcome to Ramstrology, the astrology blog written by Aries Ram, C. M. Ramsburg! Ramstrology delves into various Zodiac systems to highlight their diverse cultural influences. In this blog series, you'll learn the basic principles of astrology that are found in my YA Fantasy, SON OF THE SUN.

Planetary Astrology

In Astrology, each planet influences a unique aspect of your life. The location of these planets at your birth impacts the role each aspect will play. These planets can influence your desires, as well as your conscious and subconscious thoughts. Each planet promotes certain qualities or characteristics that make up your personality. They can shape your habits, behavior, and life trends. The Zodiac sign each planet is located in at your birth indicates how it will manifest in your life. To view the location of the planets at your birth, consult a natal chart calculator.

Son of the Sun, C. M. Ramsburg

“The solid silver necklace donned the symbol for Mercury (☿) in numerous jade and emerald crystals."

The Planets and Their Meaning

Each planet has a different transit time, which is the time it takes to move from one Zodiac sign to the other. Transit times increase the further a planet is from the Sun. Inner planets have faster transit times, making them most relevant in one's short-term and daily lives. Outer planets with slower transit times have long-term impacts on broader trends in our lives. Mercury, Venus, and Mars are classified as "inner planets" that have a large impact in our day-to-day lives. Jupiter and Saturn are "social planets" that influence our interpersonal relationships. Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto are "outer planets" that influence the course of our lives. Each planet can be viewed as having positive, benefic energy or destructive, malefic energy. Venus and Jupiter are viewed as benefic planets while Mars and Saturn are malefic planets. Below we will delve into the aspects each planet influences!


Mercury is the ruling planet of Gemini and Virgo. Mercury transits to another Zodiac sign every 3-4 weeks. Mercury is associated with communication, intellect, reason, and expression. Mercury is known as the messenger of the gods, influencing how we communicate with others. This planet reveals whether your speech is professional, concise, long-winded, witty, or flowery. This can influence the first impression we make on others. Mercury also oversees our time management and organization skills. Mercury controls how we process new information, exposing our unique method of studying.


Venus is the ruling planet of Taurus and Libra. Venus transits to another Zodiac sign every 4-5 weeks. Venus is known as the love planet, derived from the goddess of love. Venus influences love, beauty, romance, pleasure, values, sentiment, and money. Venus exposes how we love one another and what desires dwell in our hearts. Our attraction and attractiveness to others is influenced by Venus. This planet shows how one loves and is loved by others. Those with a prominent Venus are peace-makers, similar to Libras. Venus also exposes how we spend money, particularly our disposable income. Money spent on luxurious items or leisure, such as traveling, is influenced by Venus. This exposes what one finds valuable. Venus exposes the romantic and monetary desires that manifest in our lives.


Mars is the ruling planet of Aries. Mars transits to another Zodiac sign every 6-7 weeks. Mars is the god of war, similar to the Aries sign it rules over. Mars is associated with energy, desire, action, aggression, and drive. It exposes what makes us angry or passionate. Mars influences our determination and drive toward our goals. Mars increases our passion and sexual energy. Survival instincts are ruled by Mars, making you act impulsively without thinking. A prominent Mars in your chart can make you assertive and direct. However, Mars can also increase aggression, impatience, and impulsiveness.


Jupiter is the ruling planet of Sagittarius. Jupiter transits to another Zodiac sign every 12-13 months. As the largest planet, Jupiter is the king of the gods. Jupiter is associated with growth, wealth, luck, abundance, and wisdom. As an optimistic planet, Jupiter promotes spiritual and mental growth. The positivity and expansiveness of Jupiter compliments Sagittarius, which it rules over. Jupiter can expose our level of generosity and tolerance toward others. Those with prominent Jupiter positions should be wary of blind optimism and overindulgence.


Saturn is the ruling planet of Capricorn. Saturn transits to another Zodiac sign every 2-3 years. Saturn is a malefic planet, like Mars. Saturn is associated with negativity, fear, boundaries, cynicism, and discipline. This planet makes one critical of themselves and others. It is hard to overcome your fear and negativity if Saturn is playing a major role in your chart. Saturn can make you strict, rigid, restrictive, and limited. This planet promotes hard work, tough love, rules, and self-discipline. Saturn can provide structure in our lives, exposing our boundaries and limitations.


Uranus is the ruling planet of Aquarius. Uranus transits to another Zodiac sign every 7 years. Uranus is the god of the heavens. This planet is associated with originality, progress, revelation, change, and awakening. Like Aquarius that it rules over, Uranus promotes enlightenment and objectivity. Those with a prominent Uranus in their chart are forward-thinkers who contribute to society's progress. Uranus oversees innovation and ingenuity. If you are quirky, original, or a known rebel, you may have a strong Uranus in your chart.


Neptune is the ruling planet of Pisces. Neptune transits to another Zodiac sign every 10-12 years. Neptune is the god of the sea. This planet is associated with intuition, healing, dreams, spirituality, and idealism. Those with Neptune prominent in their charts are more likely to be religious and reach spiritual enlightenment. Neptune reveals how compassionate and merciful you are. However, Neptune can also influence addiction, guilt, and deceit. Neptune is a mystical and intuitive planet shrouded in mystery. This planet can reveal how you cope and escape from reality.


Pluto is the ruling planet of Scorpio. Pluto transits to another Zodiac sign every 12-15 years. Pluto is the god of the underworld. This planet is associated with the subconscious, transformation, and power. Pluto reveals what lurks below the surface, looking far past the self you project to the world. Signifying ends and new beginnings, Pluto oversees renewal and rebirth. Pluto is an intense planet, which may lead one to obsess over power and control. Destructive behaviors can often be tied to your Pluto placement. As the outermost planet, Pluto has a broader influence over the course of your life rather than your day-to-day life.

Sun and Moon:

The Sun is the ruling planet of Leo while the Moon is the ruling planet of Cancer. The Sun transits to another Zodiac sign every month and the Moon transits every 2-3 days. To learn more about the Sun and Moon, read the Ramstrology article dedicated to these two celestial bodies!

Son of the Sun, C. M. Ramsburg

“Dian followed Mars, which was unusually bright in the night sky.”

Keep the Magic Alive by following C. M. Ramsburg on social media and subscribing to her author mailing list! Comment below if there's an astrology topic you'd like to read more about.


bottom of page