top of page
  • Writer's pictureC. M. Ramsburg

Basics of Vedic Astrology

Today we will learn the basics of Vedic Astrology! Vedic Astrology is believed to be the oldest form of astrology, dating as far back as 8,500-10,000 BC. Below we will delve into the origins of Vedic Astrology and its practices!

Welcome to Ramstrology, the astrology blog written by Aries Ram, C. M. Ramsburg! Ramstrology delves into various Zodiac systems to highlight their diverse cultural influences. In this blog series, you'll learn the basic principles of astrology that are found in my YA Fantasy, SON OF THE SUN.

History of Vedic Astrology

Vedic Astrology goes by many names, including Hindu Astrology, Indian Astrology, Jyotisha, and Jyotishya. Vedic Astrology is believed to be the oldest form of astrology, dating as far back as 8,500-10,000 BC. The first known record of Vedic Astrology is found in the Rig Veda, an ancient Indian scripture. Hindu sages, known as Rishis, were the authors and scribes of Rig Veda. The Rishis were known as "seers" who were divine, wise, and enlightened. It is believed that the exchange of information and practices occurred between the ancient Greeks and Hindus. Greek and Vedic Astrology share many commonalities, with evidence of Hellenistic practices among Hindu Astrologers being commonplace.

Son of the Sun, C. M. Ramsburg

“The Rishis built this for me eons ago. They worship me like a god.”

How Vedic Astrology Differs

The Sidereal Zodiac

Vedic Astrology and Western Astrology are very similar, using the same sign names, planets, and houses. However, Vedic Astrology uses the sidereal zodiac (Nirayana) instead of the tropical zodiac used in Western Astrology. While the sidereal zodiac also uses the same 12 signs that are equally divided, these signs are calculated differently. The tropical zodiac is based on seasons while the sidereal zodiac is calculated based on the position of constellations in the sky. The tropical and sidereal zodiac were once aligned, but they have drifted apart over the past couple thousand years. Currently, the sidereal zodiac is nearly one zodiac sign out of alignment to its tropical counterpart. For example, if your Sun Sign is Taurus, it is likely the Sun was in the constellation of Aries during your birth, making you an Aries in Vedic Astrology. If you believe your Western Sun Sign inaccurately describes you, you may feel a greater influence from the sidereal zodiac.

The Moon and Planets

Vedic Astrology places larger significance on the Moon and its influence, using Moon Signs instead of Sun Signs. The position of the Moon at your birth is considered your Moon Sign. Vedic Astrology uses 27 lunar mansions, Nakshatras, that divide the night sky into 27 equal parts. Vedic Astrology does not use Uranus, Neptune, or Pluto in their planetary calculations, unlike Western Astrology. Vedic Astrology omitted these outer planets because they cannot be seen with the naked eye. Saturn is the furthest planet used in Vedic Astrology.

Son of the Sun, C. M. Ramsburg

“Vedic Astrology uses the Moon and Moon Signs as the base of its predictions, unlike the Sun Signs you all use. However, I believe both the Moon and Sun are equally false gods."

Rahu and Ketu

Rahu and Ketu are equally powerful in Vedic Astrology. They are depicted as a dragon or demon-like serpent, Rahu being the dragon's head and Ketu being the dragon's tail. In the legends, Rahuketu became an immortal demon, worrying the Sun God and Moon God. Although Rahuketu could not die, the gods were able to weaken him by separating his head from his tail, creating a separate Rahu and Ketu. Both Rahu and Ketu are shadow entities that are positioned in the two spots where the moon crosses the ecliptic. While they do not have a physical form, they represent the areas in which eclipses occur. The two spots where the moon and sun cross paths are known as nodes, Rahu being the North Node and Ketu being the South Node. Together they form the Rahu-Ketu Axis, also known as the Karmic Axis, which determines the type of karma one will have during their lifetime.


Rahu is the ascending North Lunar Node. Rahu is a shadow planet with no physical form, believed to be full of dark energy. He is often seen as a snake that swallows the Sun, similar to Apophis in Egyptian mythology who aims to swallow Ra. However, he is more commonly depicted as a dragon. In Vedic Astrology, Rahu represents mischief, fear, materialism, dissatisfaction, obsession, and confusion. Rahu is also the king of meteors. Rahu is the powerful and immortal enemy to the Sun and Moon, acting as an antagonist in my YA Fantasy, RAIN OF THE REIGN.


Ketu is the descending South Lunar Node. Ketu is the second half of the common body shared with Rahu. Being the tail of the dragon, Ketu is often depicted as a headless, gender-neutral being. However, Ketu is most commonly referred by he/him pronouns, since he is the second half of Rahu, who is male. Ketu represents spirituality, liberation, renunciation, detachment, knowledge of self, and sacred pilgrimages. Rahu and Ketu are opposites, Rahu being obsessed with the material world and Ketu rejecting the material world completely. Ketu shares many characteristics with the Twelfth House, Pisces.

Son of the Sun, C. M. Ramsburg

"Rahu and Ketu are two opposing halves of the same whole. North and south, chaos and peace, darkness and light —”

Keep the Magic Alive by following C. M. Ramsburg on social media and subscribing to her author mailing list! Comment below if there's an astrology topic you'd like to read more about.

bottom of page